Never Again…

Something told me not to step foot back into Akron City’s Women’s Health Center, something told me when I had that first complaint to get my ducks in a row and go somewhere else. If I was reconsidering going back to that place, that reconsideration is long gone. I went to this last appointment because it was already scheduled and I’m getting too close to my due date  that I fear no one else will take me; that and they happened to switch nurse practitioners for me. Well I ended up cancelling that appointment while I was there. Here’s why:

I arrived at my appointment a little early because my cab driver is always on time and he usually gets me there pretty early. In the past I would go in, sign in and sit down. Only once have I gotten there and they actually taken me back early. Other times, they tell me to get a urine sample and that they’ll take me back early. I’m never concerned about whether I get seen early or not. I just get there when I get there – which happens to be early. Today was different. I get there early at 8:43 am, I sign in, the woman at the desk calls my name to come back up so she can get my name and insurance card. Asks me when I’ll be due and then tells me that this hospital will no longer be taking CareSource after November. That pissed me off, why I don’t know, after today I won’t be back here. Anyway, there was no issue with me signing in so early, she didn’t mention how early I signed in and how it would be a problem when she asked me when my appointment was.

I go and do my business in the bathroom with the urine sample and stick in the door they have in  the bathroom and sit down. Time and time roll by and it’s 9:30, then 9:41, then 9:53. I realized it’s been 20 minutes after my appointment – like the sign says – so I head up to the desk. She didn’t even have to ask me why I was standing there, she didn’t let me get a word out. She looks at me and says. “You haven’t been seen yet?” I tell her no and she then says. “What’s your name again?” I tell her my name and she do a little clicking at the computer and then asks me what time my appointment was, I tell her 9:30. She clicks away and someone walks up and then walks away and before they can get earshot away from her, she asks them, “What’s RTR?” Neither one of them knows. I don’t find that surprising at all. It looks like that’s the slogan for Summa Hospital: “Get your care here, but don’t ask any questions because we don’t know!” She then tells me that someone was ahead of you at 9:15. Well that’s fine, my appointment wasn’t until 9:30. I ask her well, “it’s 9:53, what’s taking them so long?” She get’s defensive and annoyed and says, “I DON’T KNOW I’M JUST READING WHAT IT SAYS!” Okay, I tell her to just cancel the appointment. That’s when she tells me that I shouldn’t have signed in early. She then tells me that you shouldn’t have sign in early because we don’t take people in early. I had to KINDLY remind her that I knew that and wasn’t expecting to be called in early, even though the waiting room was practically empty when I got there, took a piss test and sat down. It was past my initial appointment time by over 20 minutes, what does me signing in early have to do with anything?

So, I was penalized for signing in early. All the signs on that window at that desk and there wasn’t one up there that said I could not sign in early. Okay. Not once did she tell me to wait to sign in if you’re early so you don’t get overlooked or not called on. The women’s health center in Akron on 75 Arch St. has to be the most incompetent doctor’s office I’ve ever had an experience with. I would rather have my child on the side of the road before I go back there. Trust me, I won’t be going back there and I won’t have anything nice to say to anyone who ask me where they should go for women care either. Avoid that place like the plague. Especially if you make a prior complaint, because then they just take it out on you.

32 weeks pregnant and I have to deal with this nonsense?

 

Leave a Reply

