I May Have To Switch Hospitals | Nurse Practitioners At Akron City Hospital Are The Worse

Let’s just say not all of the nurse practitioners are bad, but between getting switched to another doctor without any explanation to why to my recent appointment, I’m saddened, frustrated, and disgusted.

At my recent appointment, I felt more like a number than a patient. The doctor I had (we’ll just call her MK – those are her initials) was very rude and couldn’t answer most of my questions; questions she should be familiar with. She didn’t even know that RLS means Restless Leg Syndrome and that some women get it during pregnancy. I had it during my last pregnancy and it went away soon after I had my son. I had to educate her on the matter. After I mentioned the RLS and  how I have to put my arm to sleep to make it stop she just told me she has no clue what to do about that and to talk to someone else about it. The other responses to my questions were “I don’t know” or “You’re wrong, that’s not pregnancy”. When MK wasn’t cutting me short, she was being rude and dismissing my concerns to the questions that she could answer. She couldn’t even be thorough with the information she did give me. She just handed me my papers and was on her way. Neglected to even prescribed me the constipation medicine I needed. She was so ready to leave out of the room, I just let her go. It wasn’t worth the oxygen I’d need to express my frustrations with her. When talking about my concerns she didn’t engage beyond what I was saying, she just cut me off at times and wouldn’t allow me to explain. I felt rushed and tuned out.

MK didn’t care that I had pain all over and that I could barely walk due to the pain. When I told her there’s blood in my stool along with the constipation she prescribes me a powdery substance you put in water – that was to handle my constipation.. I never got that script. Again, I was too frustrated with her responses to go in further with my other questions and concerns such as the times where I’m in a resting position, IE: sitting down in a chair, I lose my breath and it feels like someone is sitting on my chest. I wanted to cry! I know, I know, I’m pregnant and people would excuse my feelings due to hormones, but this wasn’t hormones. She was being rude, impatient, and unnecessary standoff-ish to my questions and concerns.  I was already close to tears due to how much pain I was already in and how walking was such a task I was close to being in a wheelchair. I wanted to talk about induction on my due date, but she would have probably gotten much ruder. I don’t need that kind of rudeness right now as bad as I was feeling.

I’m 30 weeks pregnant – due date 12/13/14. I shouldn’t have to go through this so late in my pregnancy – or early in ANY pregnancy. I don’t know if I should or can file a complaint against that nurse, I think I should just start going to a different doctor since I have that option. Maybe I should just go to Akron Children’s Hospital and see how they fair; hell, I’m fine with going back up to Rainbow Babies & Children’s hospital in Cleveland and have my daughter there if I could get there; I loved that hospital. Anything is better than the amount of disrespect and care I received at my last appointment.

The more I think about it, the worst I feel about how I was treated. I will be calling Akron City / Summa Hospital / Summa Physicians / Women’s Health Center first thing in the morning to let them know that I’m transferring my care to another hospital. Are all Summa Hospitals like this? I hope not.

I also don’t appreciate not being made clear about the students that pop up at random to my appointments. I wasn’t made aware of it and I can’t find it in any of the agreements they made me sign. I don’t appreciate being told that this student will be in on the appointment with me without giving me an option to opt out of that kind of care. Being worked on by a student and having them poke me and measure me so they can get an idea on how-to do it wouldn’t have been a problem if I would have been given a warning. Another thing that RB&C seems to do correctly. No one is forcing me to go to AC so I won’t be. I’ll go somewhere else and hopefully the doctors don’t treat me like crap. Where if you ask if could they change the channel from the FOX NEWS channel, they don’t roll their eyes and tell you no in such a manner you would think I’d asked them if I could have their first-born.

Leave a Reply

