My Son Is Either Going to Hate Video Games or Love Them

Ever since he’s been home from the hospital, my son has been fascinated byvideo game controllers. I’m not sure it’s how they light up or he wants to play along with dad and I. When we hand him a controller that’s not plugged in, he looks up at the screen as he’s pressing buttons, he immediately gets upset — for good reason. Babies are a lot smarter than we give them credit for and my son is proof of that. I’m just worried what all this will mean as he get older. Will he hate video games, or love them? Am I scarring my son by not allowing him to play along with dad and I? I mean he gets really mad when he realize he’s not playing. Remember my son just turned 8 months, he’s been into video games since the first time he saw me playing Left 4 Dead.

With his mom and dad being huge gamers, he may not be all into video gamingwhen he gets old enough to actually play. He may want to go outside where real people are and there’s nothing wrong with that. I don’t want to give my son bad habits early or lead him to believe that this is what people do all day is sit in front of a television making imaginary characters move, jump and shoot all day. I don’t want my son growing up to hate video games because of his parents — that’ll be terrible.

Maybe I’m teaching my son the wrong habits a bit early. Don’t get me wrong, as soon as he can walk and enjoy other things besides his food, his bottle and video games, we’re going to go places, just him and me. Unlike my other half, I know when to turn video games off and go outside and take a walk. My son and I will be all over Cleveland, Ohio this summer: going to the new aquarium that just opened in the flats, the Metro Parks Zoo, playgrounds, the museums; I’ve wanted to go to the Museum of Natural History for some time.

It’s up to me to teach my son that there is more to life than virtual life. There’s life outside of video games.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

