What If My Son Grows Up to Be Gay?

I’ve wondered about this since before I had children. If my son grows up to begay all I can do is tell him I’m proud of him; let him know that he’ll always be my son no matter what. I would also commend him for being himself and not allowing society to mold him into something he didn’t want to be. I love my son and if Gay is his sexual orientation then who am I to say otherwise? I’m his mom, I have my life and he has his. I can’t dictate what he shouldn’t or shouldn’t be because of what society thinks. That’s the problem, too many people care too much about what other people think. It will not be the end of the world if my son turns out to be gay when he gets older. That’s his true self and I’m going to be behind that 100%. The only thing I must remind him is to be smart and to protect himself — always wear condoms. Other than that, I don’t see the problem.

The only things us as parents are supposed to do is give them a roof over their head, show them right from wrong, give them good moral standards, teach them how to be themselves, stand up for what they believe in, feed them, teach them, comfort them, support them and love them. Once they’re grown and out of the house, they’re no longer our responsibility. It’s time for them to live their lives. I want my son to be strong and independent. How can he be if I’m going down his throat about who he finds sexually attractive?

Even as a toddler and beyond; before he’s even old enough to know what gay is, if my son wants to play with dolls and wear pink clothes, I’m not going to stop him. All I can do is encourage him to be himself and if someone have anything to say about that then they can dress up their kids however they want to but they won’t change my mind at all. Let me just ask this: Is my son being gay making you lose your job? Did your car suddenly explode? Did someone’s puppy fall in a drain-pipe because he’s gay? Whose roof is he living under again? Did your world stop spinning because my son and I don’t care about what you think?

I love my son and I want him to love himself and if being gay, bi-sexual or whatever is what he wants to be then good for him and damn to whoever says otherwise.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

