To Spank Or Not to Spank

Ah yes, one of the most controversial topics of parenthood: spanking. I firmly believe spanking doesn’t work. I was raised in a household were beatings (not spankings — I know the difference between spanking and beating) were upheld. Even though my guardians tried to strike fear in my heart, it didn’t stop me from doing what I wanted to do. In case you didn’t hear me the first time I’ll say it again, corporal punishment does not work!

It has been proven that spanking may work when they’re young but the results of those spankings can develop aggressive and anti-social behavior. A recent article I read stated that spanking can cause low-term developmental damage and low IQ’s.

The study, published this week in the Canadian Medical Association Journal, reached its conclusion after examining 20 years ofpublished research on the issue. The authors say the medical finding have been largely overlooked and overshadowed by concerns that parents should have the right to determine how their children are disciplined. – Yahoo! Health

There’s nothing wrong with popping their little hands when they do something dangerous; like sticking a metal fork in an outlet for example, but getting out a belt or using excessive force on a child is a bit extreme in my eyes. I’m a new parent of course and I’m trying to be a better parent than my guardians were. Getting beat: all it did was make me resent them; hate them; boil with rage. I cannot count on my hands and feet the times I wanted to run away because of the abuse I went through as a kid.

I’m anti-spank and I stand behind my reason to not spank my child for drawing on the wall, pulling on the cat’s tail, wetting the bed; because he’s a child, they’re supposed to do things like that. A child cannot understand what they’ve done wrong most of the time otherwise they wouldn’t do it. How many times have you taken a marker from them after they drew on the wall and you spanked them and they went and found another marker and continued drawing on the wall after they finished crying? It’s ok, I’ll wait.

When you’re spanking (if you lack self-control and have anger management issues — beating) your child all the time, as they get older and the spankings become more frequent they will find this behavior appropriate and begin beating their offspring when they have them. It’s a never-ending cycle. Spanking does not equate to obedience. Spanking leads to depression, low self-esteem and bad behavior.

I don’t want to lose the bond me and my son has for me by spanking him. I don’t want pent-up anger and him hating me to be apart of that reason either. I love my son and I refuse to hit my son or verbally abuse my son. There is no proper way to spank a child. No matter what anyone says.

I’m so tired of “oh when he starts walking and getting into stuff, you’re going to want to hit him”. No I’m not. He gets into stuff now and he’s not crawling yet and I’m not spanking him; he doesn’t know any better! He broke my phone but it still worked. You know what I did? I taped it up and kept using it. When there is proof that a toddler know right from wrong but doesn’t care about the consequences and that spanking the child has a positive outcome — you know what? I know that’ll never happen so I’m not going to even go there.

Leave a Reply

