The Breast-feeding Nazis

For lack of a better word…

Yes, the “I’m so anti-formula because breastfeeding was so easy for me. Those that say is hard haven’t tried hard enough” Nazi’s. Let me just say, comments like that only reinforce the “breastfeeding Nazi” myth which actually does turn people off from breastfeeding. The truth is that there are many reasons that formula is necessary and formula savesbabies lives. It is not there for lazy moms. That’s right,formula feeding your child does not make you a lazy mother. Not feeding your child makes you a neglectful mom. So whether it’s breast of formula, you’re doing the right thing.

You know, this breastfeeding stick these anti-formula Nazi’s have up their behinds is pretty cruel and unnecessary. Okay, breastfeeding was easy for you, big whoop. You tried and tried and tried although it was hard at first, you kept to your guns. You didn’t have any complications with your milk coming through. Your baby just latched on and had a good time. You didn’t have to see not one lactation consultant on many occasions because you were born to breastfeed. Now you can walk around and say, “I breastfed all of my children, everyone should do it and stop making excuses to why you’re giving your baby that poison stuff that come in the cans”. Listen when you say stuff like that, it’s obvious you’re looking for a cookie for your achievement…here take it…now sit down and be quiet, you sound ridiculous. Formula isn’t poison but your rhetoric is. You are not doing any favors for the breastfeeding nor the formula movement. You’re making the mothers who have breast cancer, AIDS, and any other disease that keeps them from breastfeeding feel worse than they already do.

It’s not up to you or anyone else to stick your nose up at people who formula fed their babies. I’m formula feeding and I’m not ashamed of it either. My son came into this world a big and healthy baby, he’s even bigger and even healthier now. He didn’t turn into a demon, or started foaming at the mouth when I feed him formula. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve tried for the first two months of his life to breastfeed. Nothing and I mean absolutely nothing worked. Pumped, compressed, massaged, everything. My milk just wouldn’t come down. Which is why I’m so touchy about this topic.

To say formula is the easy way out is the most redundant thing to say to a new mom. Especially to those who tried their best to breastfeed their babies. I struggled so hard to breastfeed my son and so often there is a feeling that we can’t talk about breastfeeding struggles because we might scare the mothers away from doing it and I hate that sentiment. I am a stronger believer of ‘do what is best for your child regardless of what anyone else have to say’, and I do just that. My son is good, the pediatricians says he’s fine and that’s all that matters.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

