My 34 week and 6th day Appointment

According to my ‘Baby Basics’ book…

“Your baby looks just like…a baby! He’s getting plum, cute and nearly ready for hugging. Maybe as big as 5lbs, 18 inches. He can see. (And look at those eyelashes!) He can hear. And he is growing fast. The lungs and brain still need to do some growing. But if your baby were born this month, it would probably do well.

Yea well with all the menstrual-like cramping and the painful pelvic pains, it’s becoming all too real that maybe he wants to come earlier than June 9th. I hope I’m wrong. It also says in this month that there will be a lot of kicking and moving. Well it he’s been pretty much doing the opposite. Anyway, at my appointment. I gained a lot of weight since my last visit. I went from 154lbs to 160lbs. Finally reached that 25lb weight gain mark that I was so worried about not gaining. They say from here on out, you’re supposed to gain 1lb a week but here I gained more than that. I’m measuring at 34cm so I’m right on the money.

Hmm, as far as my weight gain, my blood pressure was perfect as usual. Nostretch marksvaricose veins, bleeding gums, leg cramps, back aches, swollen ankles, leaky nipples, no stuffy nose, and if I were having Braxton Hicks Contractions I wouldn’t know, they’re unnoticeable. I’m still confused on what those menstrual cramps mean. I told my OB/GYN and she told me, “that’s very good, it means you won’t be pregnant for long”. I should have asked her what she meant by that but all I wanted was to get off of my feet, and sit down.

Oh yea, I got the chance to take a tour of the maternity ward at the hospital. I really thought we were going to be in this big open room with other pregnant women, in one of those chairs where you put your legs up and the only thing separating you from the outside world is a thin curtain but boy was I wrong. I even got to see the recovery room that I’ll be in with my baby. They’re really nice and they have room service so I’ll be taking advantage of that.

I got a good look at one of baby Adam‘s little feet last week. It was fascinating and I almost cried. He stuck it out there for at least 4 seconds and I almost grabbed it but he pulled it back like he knew what I was thinking. I can’t wait to see him, I’m so very excited/anxious. The baby shower is this Saturday and I’m going to have great time.

Leave a Reply

